WC 2019: Pakistan To Face Australia After 14 Years in England

Aus vs PakAll Cricket News Sports WC 2019 World 

On Wednesday, 12th June, Australia will face Pakistan in the 17th match of the ICC cricket world cup at County Ground, Taunton.

Both the teams will come face to face after 14 years in Taunton ground. The last time the two teams met was on 4th September 2004 on the Lord’s grounds. Then Australia defeated Pakistan by 10 runs.

Last time when Pakistan won against Australia in England was on June 19th, 2001, in Nottingham ground. In that match, Pakistan defeated Australia by 36 runs.

Let’s talk about Australia and Pakistan’s statistics on England ground. In total Australia and Pakistan have faced each other in 8 times in England. Out of those 8 matches, Australia has won 5 and Pakistan have won 3 matches.

Pakistan Registered Their Last Win Against Australia in ODIs 29 Months Ago

If we talk about overall statistics, then Australia and Pakistan have played 103 ODIs. Of these, Australia has won 67 matches and have faced defeat in 32 matches.

One match was a tie, while there was no result in 3 matches.

Pakistan’s last win against Australia was on 15 January 2017 on the Melbourne ground. In that match, Pakistan defeated Australia by 6 wickets.

Pakistan Haven’t Won A Match Against Australia in Past 8 Years in WC

In the World Cup, the two countries have faced each other 9 times. And, out of which it won 5 matches.


The time when Pakistan won against Australia in the world cup was on March 19, 2011. It defeated Australia by 4 wickets in that match.

Australia’s Strength

David Warner – Steve Smith: Australia has so far won 2 out of 3 matches in this World Cup. In those matches, both David Warner and Steve Smith have contributed immensely. Smith is his team’s top scorer, while Warner is second. Both are the team’s most experienced players. The team will look forward to a better performance by these two players in this match.

Bowler: Australian fast bowler Mitchell Starc has taken 7 wickets in 3 matches of this tournament. He is the leading the wicket-taker of the team. Pat Cummins has 6 in his 3 matches and Mark Stoinis have 4 wickets in his name.

Australia’s weakness

Usman Khawaja’s out-of-form: Usman Khawaja, who batted at number three, is not included in the top-5 scorer of the team. He hasn’t made even a single half-century in the tournament so far. In the first match, he scored 15 runs. In the second match, only 13 runs against the West Indies. He played 42 innings against India in the third match.

Pakistan’s strength

Babar Azam: Babar Azam, the strongest pillar in Pakistan’s batting form, has been in good form for the last one year. He scored 1035 runs in 25 matches and also scored two centuries. His average was 51.75.

In his second match in this tournament, he scored 63 against England. Team management will expect the same performance from him in this match.

Mohammad Aamir: Pakistan’s most prominent bowler Mohammad Amir has not been in the form for the last one year. In the first 12 months before the World Cup, he took only 3 wickets in 11 matches. Because of being experienced, the selectors included them in the World Cup team showing faith in them.

He proved that selectors decision was correct as he took 3 wickets against West Indies and 2 wickets against England.

Pakistan’s weakness

Cannot Play Longer Innings: Imam ul Haq and Fakhar Zaman shared a 17-run partnership against West Indies in the first match. In that match, Imam scored two and Jamat scored 22 runs. In the second match, both of them shared 82 runs against England. Imam scored 44 and Jamat scored 36 runs. However, both batsmen did not make a big score after giving a good start. The team management would like to change both good starts into a bigger score in this match.

Both teams:

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson.

Pakistan: Imam ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (c/wk), Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Wahab Riaz, Hassan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi


Related posts