Steve Davis: Player who dominated the 1980s era

steve davisAll News Sports 

Steve Davis one of the biggest names in the snooker. Davis considered one of the greatest players in snooker history. He started playing snooker in the late 1970s. But he became an overnight star when he won the 1981 world championship. Davis was only 24 years old. After that, he started dominating snooker till the late 1980s. He reached 8 world championship finals in 9 years which was a record. His match with Dennis Taylor in 1985 world championship gathered maximum viewership on television.

He was named BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 1988. Davis becomes the only snooker player to win this award. He won 28 ranking titles which were the record that time. His record broken By Stephen Hendry, Ronnie Sullivan, and John Higgins. Davis won 15 triple crown titles in his career which was a record at that time. Steve Davis considered the most Dominant player in Snooker history.

Records which shows Steve Davis as the most dominant player

8 World Championship finals in 9 years

Steve Davis won a total 6 world championship in his career. He won his first world championship in 1981 and continue to dominate the game till 1989. Davis won his last title in 1989 after that he withdraw from the world championship. Stephen Hendry won 7 World Championship titles broke and his record. He won 5.5 million pounds as prize money in his career. He makes his first 147 in 1982.

15 Triple crown Championship

Steve Davis won 15 triple crown championship in his career. 6 world championships, 6 UK championships, and 3 Masters title. Stephen Hendry broke his record and Ronnie Sullivan broke Hendry record by winning 19 triple crown championships.

28 ranking titles

Steve Davis won 28 ranking titles which were a record at that time. Later his record was broken by Stephen Hendry, Ronnie Sullivan, and John Higgins. In the 1980s era, it looks like Steve used to win every tournament. There was no answer to Steve Davis at that time.


Related posts