Rafael Nadal Win, to claim his 4th title at Flushing Meadows

Rafael NadalAll News Sports World 

Rafael Nadal of Spain won the US Open for the fourth time. He became the fourth player to win over 4 titles in the Open Era. He equaled 4 titles of John Machenroe of America. Next to him, are Roger Federer of Switzerland and Pete Sampras of America. Both won 5-5 titles. Nadal is a left-handed player. In this championship running since 1881, right-handed players have won 103 titles so far and left-handed players 25 times. In 34 years, Nadal is the only left-handed player to win the title. In 2009, he broke a 24-year series of consecutive wins for right-handed players.

The time from 1974 to 84 was for left-handed players. Not a single right-hander won the US Open title during this period. From 1985 to 2009, 24 years in a row, right-handed players won the titles, in 2009 it was Nadal who broke this line.


No player has found all four Grand Slam champions for 31 years

It was the last Grand Slam of the year. This time also no single player has won all four Grand Slam. Steffi Graf won all four Grand Slam in a year in 1988. However, playing three male players and two female players have completed their career Grand Slam.

Nadal’s Grand Slam title

When did he win the grand slam?

Australian Open: 2009
French Open: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019
Wimbledon: 2008, 2010
US Open: 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019

Nadal wins US Open after two years

Nadal won the US Open after two years. He defeated Daniil Medvedev of Russia 7-5, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4. Nadal last became the champion in 2017. He won the title for the third time by defeating Kevin Anderson of South Africa 6-3, 6-3, 6-4. They first won the finals in 2010 by defeating Novak Djokovic. He won the match 6-4 5-7 6-4 6-2. It then defeated Djokovic again in 2013. Nadal won that match 6–2, 3–6, 6–4, 6–1.

Nadal played a grand slam final for 28th time

Players win finals, lose

Roger Federer: 31 20 11
Rafael Nadal: 28 19 8
Novak Djokovic: 25 169
Ivan Lendl: 19 8 11
Pete Sampras: 18 14 4

Related posts