Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke wins Literature Nobel Prize

Nobel PrizeAll News Offbeat World 

For the year 2018, they have awarded Polish writer Olga Tokarczuk the Nobel Prize in Literature. They have given the Nobel Prize in Literature for the year 2019 to Austrian writer Peter Handke. The Nobel Foundation in Sweden’s capital Stockholm announced the Nobel Prize 2019 winners. Earlier, the Nobel Prize 2019 was announced on Wednesday, and it was John B. of America to develop a lithium-ion battery. John Goodenough, England’s M. Stanley Whittingham, and Japan’s Akira Yoshino were jointly given.

On Tuesday, they announced the Nobel Prize for Physics, which included Canadian-American astrophysicist James Peebles, Swiss astrophysicist Michel G.E. Was awarded to Michel Mayor and the Swiss astronomer Didier Queloz. James Peebles was jointly given the Nobel Prize ‘for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology’, Michael Mayer and Didier Queloz ‘for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star’. They announced half of the prize to be given to James Peebles. However, they shared equally the remaining amount between the two other scientists.

Even earlier, William G. of America on Monday William G. Kaelin Jr and Greg L. from Britain Gregg L. Semenza and Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe was announced the Nobel Prize in medicine.


These scientists have discovered how oxygen levels affect our cellular metabolism and physical activity. This discovery paved the way for a new strategy in the fight against anemia, cancer and other diseases.

They have given the Nobel Prize in Literature 112 times and 116 authors since 1901, including the announcement, made on Thursday. So far, they have awarded 15 women the Nobel Prize for Literature. The youngest to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature (Nobel Laureate) was the 41-year-old Rudyard Kipling, who was awarded in 1907, and the oldest to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature, 88 The year was Doris Lessing, who was awarded the award in 2007.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was not given on seven occasions – 1914, 1918, 1935, 1940, 1941, 1942 and 1943. Four times the Nobel Prize for Literature was given jointly to two authors. In 1904, Frédéric Mistral and José Echegaray, in 1917, Karl Gjellerup and Henrik Pontoppidan, in 1966, Shumeuel Agnon and Nelly Sachs. Sachs) and was jointly awarded to Eyvind Johnson and Harry Martinson in 1974. Nobel Prize for literature has never been given twice to any writer.


Related posts