Indian women’s team captain Rani Rampal recommended for Khel Ratna


Hockey India has recommended the name of Indian women's team captain Rani Rampal for the Khel Ratna award while the names of Vandana Kataria, Monica and Harmanpreet Singh have been sent for the Arjuna Award. Major Dhyanchand has been sent to former India players RP Singh and Tushar Khandekar for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The names of coaches BJ Kariyappa and Ramesh Pathania have been sent for the Dronacharya Award. For the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the highest sporting honor of the country, the performance from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2019 will be the foundation. Meanwhile, under the captaincy of Rani, India won the Women's Asia Cup in 2017 and won a silver medal at the Asian Games in 2018, winning the Tokyo Olympic qualification by scoring a winning goal for India in the FIH Olympic Qualifier 2019.

India rose to the ninth position in the FIH rankings under Rani's captaincy. The first Indian queen to receive the World Sports Athlete Award has got Arjun in 2016 and Padma Shri in 2020. Vandana, who has played more than 200 international matches for India and Monica, who has participated in more than 150 international matches, has been sent for the Arjuna Award, both in the FIH Series Finals in Hiroshima, the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Test Tournament and the Olympic Qualifier in Bhubaneswar. Was the architect of India's victory.

The name of Indian men's team drag flicker Harmanpreet Singh has also been sent for the Arjuna Award, he performed brilliantly at the FIH Series Finals in Bhubaneswar. He captained Manpreet Singh in the 2020 Olympic Test tournament, he was also part of the Indian team that won the Olympic qualifier in Russia last year. His name has been sent for Major Dhyanchand Lifetime Achievement Award for contribution to former players RP Singh and Khandkar's hockey. At the same time, Kariyappa was sent for the Dronacharya Award, which was the coach of India's junior men's team that won a silver medal in the Johor Cup in 2019. Hockey India President Mohammad Mushtaq Ahmed said, 'Sardar Singh was the last hockey player to receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Rani has touched new heights in women's hockey and deserves this honor. A committee of the Sports Ministry will select the winners. The awards will be given on National Sports Day on 29 August.

Also Read:

These players wells in difficult conditions

Match starts in midst of Coronavirus crisis

Bayern Munich favourites to win Champions League: Berbatov

These cricketers of Indian team have a lot of money, but still not forgotten their old days


Related posts