In the first semi-final of World Cup 2019, New Zealand defeated India by 18 runs to win the tournament.
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who came in to bat at number seven in the match, shared a 116-run partnership with Ravindra Jadeja. Dhoni was also run out after they caught Jadeja.
Social media users shared some screenshots, according to which Dhoni was out on a ball that was a no-ball, but the umpire did not pay attention. There has been a debate on social media about this.
On the third ball of Ferguson’s 48th over, Dhoni played short on the fine leg and quickly ran for two runs. Only then the fielder Martin Guptill threw the ball straight onto the stumps and Dhoni was run out.
He returned to the pavilion by scoring 50 runs off 72 balls. Chasing the target of 240 runs, India were all out for 221 runs in 49.3 overs.
Fans said – Bigger mistake than umpires
The fans shared screenshots just before the dismissal of Dhoni on social media. In this, during the third power-play, 6 fielders appeared outside the 30-yard circle.
According to the rules, only 5 fielders can stand outside the circle in the third power-play of the last 10 overs. In such a way, the ball which was bowled out of Dhoni was to be a no-ball or a free hit. Both the umpires and the referee did not notice.
The batsman is dismissed on Run Out
According to the run out rules, a batsman is given a run out on no-ball. If a ball was given a ball before, then the ball that Dhoni got out was a free hit. In this case, the question here is the mistake of the amperes. Anyway, this no-ball bowler was a no-ball with a mistake, but it was a no-ball mess in the fielding position.
This is how Twitter Reacted
Fans believe that if the umpire gave attention and the right fielding then it was possible that Dhoni’s wouldn’t have been out.
Dhoni could have played more shots. The fans are upset with the umpires about how can they make such a big mistake. They are also expressing displeasure over poor umpiring. However, these disputes are limited to social media only. No cricketer or any officials associated with cricket has responded to this.
WHAT A MOMENT OF BRILLIANCE!
— ICC (@ICC) July 10, 2019
— Karthikeyan (@amkarthik_kk) July 10, 2019
Wat is dis 6 fielders outside of d circle pic.twitter.com/V4v97umFw6
— aravind (@aravind47140610) July 10, 2019