BCCI announces team for Upcoming Under-19 World Cup

IndiaAll Cricket Cricket News Sports World 
  • It will be the World Cup in South Africa from January 17, with 16 teams taking part; they will play The finals on 9 February
  • India’s under-19 team has won the World Cup four times, this time in India Group A and Pakistan Group C

The BCCI on Monday announced a 15-man squad for the Under-19 World Cup. The captain of the defending champion team was handed over to Priyam Garg, while they named wicketkeeper Dhruv Chand Jurel as vice-captain. This time they handed the tournament over to South Africa. It will start on 17 January. They will play the final on 9 February. India’s first match will be against Sri Lanka on 19 January.

The four-time winning Indian team is in Group-A while Pakistan is in Group-C. India’s second match will be against Japan and the third against New Zealand. This time 16 teams are taking part in the World Cup. This will be the 13th World Cup under-19. In the World Cup final played in February 2018, the Indian team defeated Australia by 8 wickets. Then the captain of the team was Prithvi Shaw. Manjot Kalra scored an unbeaten 101 in the final.

Indian team: Priyam Garg (captain), Dhruv Chand Jurel (wicketkeeper and vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Divyansh Saxena, Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Karthik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra (Wicketkeeper), Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil.

Priyam scored 2 centuries in first-class matches

Priyam was born on 30 November 2000 in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh. He played his first first-class match against Goa in November 2018. Priyam has scored 867 runs in 12 first-class matches at an average of 66.69. He has 2 centuries and 5 half-centuries. The right-handed batsman has also scored a double century in the first class. He played for India-C, who was runner-up in the Deodhar Trophy. In the final, Priyam scored an innings of 74 against India-B.

Two teams from each group will go to the Super League

There will be four groups. There will be only four teams in each group. Two top teams from each group will advance to the Super League.  They will play Warm-up matches from January 12 to 15 in Johannesburg and Pretoria. 24 matches will be played in four cities and eight grounds. India has so far won 4, Australia 3, Pakistan 2 and England, West Indies and South Africa 1–1 time this World Cup.

Indian team announced for series between four teams

They will play the series between four teams in South Africa from the World Cup. The teams will be hosts, India, New Zealand, and Zimbabwe. A 16-member Indian team was also announced for the series. In these 15 players will remain of the World Cup team, only Hyderabad’s CTL guard was selected as the additional player.

Related posts